Things You Should Know About

Staff Pick: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

by Rachel

The first installment of the Thursday Next series. Thursday Next, Swindon literary detective extraordinaire and proud dodo owner finds that she has inherited the ability to jump inside books. Shenanigans ensue...

--

From the publisher:

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it's a bibliophile's dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense.

All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bronte's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.Penguin Books, $17.00