Kramerbooks

New & Noteworthy

From wine tastings in our bar, to author readings in the bookstore, there's something for everyone. Check out our events calendar (and subscribe to our newsletter) to learn about our upcoming events!

Join us Wednesday, June 14 at 6:30 for a reading by Katherine Heiny

Standard Deviation Cover In Conversation with Jennifer Close, author of The Hopefuls 

For readers of Where’d You Go Bernadette, comes Katherine Heiny’s debut novel STANDARD DEVIATION - a rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami.

Divorcing his wife to marry his girlfriend, Audra, is the one impulsive thing Graham Cavanaugh has ever done. Audra is charming and spontaneous and fun, but life with her can be exhausting, constantly interrupted by phone calls, burdened by houseguests, and populated by old men with backpacks full of origami paper. As Graham and Audra struggle to define their marriage and raise a child with Asperger’s, they decide to establish a friendship with his first wife, Elspeth. But former spouses are hard to categorize—are they friends, enemies, old flames, or just people who know you really, really well? Graham starts to wonder: How can anyone love two such different women? Did he make the right choice? Is there a right choice? A novel as poignant as it is hilarious, STANDARD DEVIATION never deviates from superb.

KATHERINE HEINY is the author of Single, Carefree Mellow, a collection of short stories. Her fiction has been published in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, and many other places. She lives in Washington, D.C., with her husband and children.

JENNIFER CLOSE is the bestselling author of Girls in White Dresses, The Smart One, The Hopefuls. Born and raised on the North Shore in Chicago, she is a graduate of Boston College and received her MFA in fiction writing from The New School in 2005. She worked in New York in magazines for many years. She now lives in Washington, DC, and teaches creative writing at George Washington University.