Events at Kramerbooks

What's happening now!

Tuesday, July 18th 6:30pm

Americans have a lot to be happy about. Entertainment is always at the tip of our fingers. Companies tempt employees with junk food and video games. We have apps that enable us to order pizza or have our laundry picked up with the tap of a button. In short, our culture is obsessed with the good life. Yet, we’re more dissatisfied than ever. In The Power of Meaning, Emily Esfahani Smith argues that we...

Tuesday, July 25th 6:30pm

An unfinished novel about an agent, a director, a studio executive, and a call girl vs. the Anti-Christ in Hollywood  In the tradition of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves and P.T. Anderson's Magnolia, Adam Novak explores the city of angels and demons in his third novel Freaks of the Industry.

...

Wednesday, September 13th 6:30pm

A veteran Silicon Valley reporter unveils the inside story of Uber’s bid for global domination—and what it means for the rest of us.

...

Monday, October 16th 6:30pm

Black holes, predicted by Albert Einstein’s general theory of relativity more than a century ago, have long intrigued scientists and the public with their bizarre and fantastical properties. Although Einstein understood that black holes were mathematical solutions to his equations, he never accepted their physical reality—a viewpoint many shared. This all changed in the 1960s and 1970s, when a deeper...